Unit 2: My Thoughts

Coming into this course I never really viewed myself as one that uses media a whole lot, I was completely wrong. At the beginning of this unit we talked a lot about media literacy, but even before that we talked a little about what media actually is. Before talking about that, I believed media to be pretty much just social media in other words Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, etc. I never really thought about YouTube, movies, or magazines as being a form of media. Once I realized that these were in fact forms of media I started to get intrigued as to how much media I do actually use, and looking back on it I am constantly surrounded by it.

As people who know me personally know, I enjoy working out a lot because of my background as a Division 1 wrestler and my future plans of going into the United States Army. I never realized how much media I use when I do work out. For one I’m always streaming music off of Apple Music, on top of that I’m always on Youtube looking up workouts for specific body parts, and even on top of that I will use an app to track my calorie intake and out put. All of that is in one way or another some form of media that I am using during my workouts, and before this class I never really realized that.

Once we started this course and talking about media literacy in this unit, I also began to look at the social media I used more thoroughly. I follow a lot of professional lifters and body builders from the United States, and I began to notice that a lot of people from around the world follow them as well. I then noticed that our culture is spread throughout the world through social media very heavily. I found this to be very surprising, and because of this course I’m starting to realize how big of an impact media actually plays on our lives, and how becoming more media literate opens up your eyes.

 

Published by

Grant Bond

I am a college student at Bloomsburg University studying Mass comm with a journalism track. I am a member of the United States Army ROTC program, as well as a member of the university wrestling team.

Leave a comment