Unit 3: Social Media’s Impact

Before Mark Zuckerberg released Facebook to the world, my life was pretty simple when it came to social media. Occasionally I would get on AIM after school and message a friend, but other than that social media really did not have a presence in my life. Granted I was only about ten years old so my world was very small at the time and my focus was on playing football with my neighborhood friends, not talking to people that lived outside of the neighborhood.

However once Facebook was introduced to the public, that all began to change. At this moment in my life social media began to creep more and more into my life and rise on my priority list. I went from catching touchdown passes after school to coming home and hopping on Facebook to see what my friends had posted that day. As I got older and got a phone, it became even more prevalent and now at this point in my life I have come to realize I am almost always using social media, and not even just to check up on my friends or classmates.

Today I, as well as many people in my generation, use social media for a number of different reasons. I use Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date with news from around the world honestly probably more than I actually turn on the news. I use Instagram and Youtube to stream videos for numerous different reasons like how to videos, workout videos, and cooking instructions. And the biggest one of all, at least for me, I use Snapchat to keep in touch with my friends and see what is going on around the world.

Social media is constantly impacting our lives, and  in my opinion, as long as we know how to control ourselves and use it correctly, I think it has a very positive impact on them.

Published by

Grant Bond

I am a college student at Bloomsburg University studying Mass comm with a journalism track. I am a member of the United States Army ROTC program, as well as a member of the university wrestling team.

Leave a comment